Afridi, 18 others set to feature in sixth World T20 event

Karachi: Pakistan’s T20 skipper Shahid Afridi is the only Pakistani player to be featuring in sixth straight ICC World Twenty20 Championship, which begins March 8 in India.

Apart from Afridi 18 other players will be featuring in the sixth event. This was confirmed after all the 16 men’s squads were submitted for the tournament.

Bangladesh will field the most experienced sides whose five players – Masrafe Bin Mortaza, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah and Mushfiqur Rahim – have played in all the events since its inception in 2007 in South Africa.

The India and West Indies sides include three players each who have participated in the previous events, which were staged in South Africa, England, West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. These players are: MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh (all India), and Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle and Denesh Ramdin(all West Indies).

Nathan McCullum, Ross Taylor (both New Zealand), AB de Villiers, JP Duminy (both South Africa), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lasith Malinga (both Sri Lanka) and Shane Watson (Australia) are the other players to attend their sixth straight ICC World Twenty20.