Ahmed Shahzad dropped as Asia Cup, World T20 squad announced

Karachi: Opener Ahmed Shahzad has been dropped as National Selection Committee headed by Haroon Rashid announced the squad for the upcoming ACC T20 Asia Cup 2016 and ICC World T20 2016:

Chairman PCB Shaharyar Mohammad Khan has approved the 15 member squad.

Meanwhile, spinner Mohammad Nawaz has been picked following his impressive showings in the ongoing Pakistan Super League.

“While picking the squad, the team management and skipper were consulted by the selectors, and all concerned gave their consent in this regard,” Haroon said.

However, there had been some reports of rifts between captain Shahid Afridi and selection committee over their decision to drop out-of-form Ahmed Shahzad.

“The T20 team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions during Asia cup and World T20 and the recent performances of some players in domestic and A Team tours. The team is a fine blend of experience and youth and the selectors believe that team will do well in both tournaments”, added chief selector.

Squad: Shahid Afridi (Captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed (Vice-Captain/WK), Babar Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Khurram Manzoor, Rumman Rais.

Team Officials: Intikhab Alam (Team Manager), Waqar Younis (Head Coach), Mushtaq Ahmed (Spin Bowling Coach), Grant William Flower (Batting Coach), Yasir Malik (Trainer for ACC T20 Asia Cup 2016), Grant Trafford Luden (Fielding Coach cum Trainer for ICC World T20 2016), Dr. Sohail Saleem (Physiotherapist), Shahid Aslam (Assistant Team Manager), Col. (R) Azam Khan (Security Manager), Agha Akbar (Media Manager), Talah Ejaz (Analyst), Malang Ali (Masseur).