ICC confirms venues for ICC Women’s World Cup

Dubai: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed that Derbyshire, Gloucestershire, Leicestershire, Lord’s and Somerset will host the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 matches from June 26 to July 23.

It will be the first time that the tournament will be held in England since 1993 when the home side beat New Zealand in the final at Lord’s, revisiting the scene of their triumph in 1973 in the first-ever ICC Women’s World Cup final against Australia.

According to the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 format, eight sides will participate in a single-league format with each side playing the other once. The top four sides following the conclusion of the league matches will progress to the semi-finals with the winners clashing at Lord’s on July 23. This means that there 31 matches will be played during the 28-day tournament.

The top four sides from the ongoing eight-team ICC Women’s Championship will progress automatically for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017, while the bottom four sides will get a final chance of qualification through the 10-team ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier in 2017.