Mohsin in the ICC Future Stars squad as West Indians dominate the line-up

Karachi: Pakistan Under-19 team’s impressive all-rounder Hasan Mohsin has become the only player from the country to have been included in ICC Future Stars team, which is dominated by players of U-19 World Cup winning West Indies.

ICC has picked playing XI and a 12th man for its Future Stars squad after the conclusion of the ICC Under-19 World Cup held in Bangladesh.

“The Pakistan allrounder Hasan Mohsin is one of a kind in this team. He is a fine top-order batsman and his 293 runs in six matches placed him fourth in the run-scorers’ list,” ICC release said.

“His average, a stunning 97.66, is also the highest among them, and he specialises in digging the team out of a hole and taking it across the line in a chase. He is also bowls with the new ball with disciplined medium pace, and has 11 wickets at a commendable 14.81. His all-round calibre made him a shoo-in in this line-up,” it added.

There is also a ballistic presence of West Indies’ Gidron Pope at the top, alongside the leading run-scorer Jack Burnham of England. The middle order possesses the enigmatic Sarfaraz Khan of India and the mature Sri Lankan Charith Asalanka, with Alzarri Joseph of West Indies and Sandeep Lamichhane of Nepal leading the pace and spin departments respectively. West Indies skipper Shimron Hetmyer has been named as captain of the team.

ICC Future Stars Squad:

Gidron Pope (WI), Jack Burnham(Eng), Shimron Hetmyer (capt)(WI), Sarfaraz Khan(Ind), Charith Asalanka (SL), Hasan Mohsin (Pak), Mehdi Hasan Mirza (Ban), Shamran Springer (WI), Rory Anders (Ireland), Alzarri Joseph (WI), Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal). 12th man: Mayank Dagar (Ind).