CPNE elects office-bearers

Karachi: Mujeeb-ur-Rehman Shami of Daily Pakistan and Dr. Jabbar Khattak of Daily Awami Awaz, have been elected president and Secretary General, respectively at Council of Pakistan Newspapers Editors (CPNE) annual general meeting held on Saturday.

The other office-bearers who were also elected included Chief Editor Qaumi Akhbar Ilyas Shaker (Senior Vice-President); Awais Khushnood of Daily Jinnah (Vice-President, Punjab); Shaheen Qureshi of Daily Jang (Vice-President, Sindh); Tahir Farooq of Daily Ittehad (Vice-President, KPK); Iyaz Khan of Daily Express(Vice-President, Islamabad and Rawalpindi); Siddique Baloch of Daily Balochistan Express (Vice-President, Balochistan); Mushtaq Ahmad Qureshi of Monthly Nai Ufaq (Joint Secretary) and Hamid Hussain Abidi, Editor of Daily Aman (Finance Secretary).

Earlier, the following 35 standing committee members were elected at the annual general meeting:

From Karachi daily newspapers seats: Shaheen Qureshi (Daily Jang), Wamiq Zubairi (Daily Business Recorder), Ilyas Shaker (Qaumi Akhbar), Hamid Hussain Abidi (Daily Aman) and Dr Jabbar Khattak (Awami Awaz).

From Lahore daily newspapers seats: Arif Nizami (Pakistan Today), Mujeeb-ur-Rehman Shami (Daily Pakistan), Jamil Athar Qazi (Daily Tijarat), Majeed Nizami (Daily Nawa-e-Waqt), Zia Shahid (Daily Khabrain), Khushnood Ali Khan ( Daily Sahafat).

From Rawalpindi, Islamabad daily newspapers seats: Mehtab Khan (Daily Ausaf) and Ayaz Khan (Daily Express).

From Balochistan daily newspapers seats: Waseem Ahmad (Daily Awam) and Syed Fasih Iqbal (Baluchistan Times).

From KPK daily newspapers seats: Pir Safaid Shah (Daily Wahdat) and Tahir Farooq (Daily Ittehad).

Sindh excluding Karachi: Najmuddin Sheikh (Daily Dianat) and Javeed Mehr Shamsi (Daily Clean).

Punjab excluding Lahore, Rawalpindi and Islamabad: Humayun Tariq (Daily Business Report), Syed Muhammad Munir Jilani (Daily Paigham) and Mumtaz A. Tahir (Daily Aftab).

At general seats: Faisal Zahid Malik (Daily Pakistan Observer), Syed Mumtaz Shah (Daily Mashriq), Naveed Chaudhary (Daily C42), Sadique Baloch (Daily Baluchistan Express) and Rashid Rehman (Daily Times).

For periodicals seats: Mumtaz Ahmad Qureshi (Monthly Nai Ufaq), Amir Mehmood (Monthly Kiran), Sardar Khan Niazi (Monthly Naya Rukh) and Naseer Hashmi (Weekly Takbeer).

For periodicals news/views seats: From Punjab Rehmat Ali Razi (Weekly Azam).

For periodical news/views general seats: Qazi Asad Abid (Ibrat Magazine).

At periodical news/views Sindh: Naseer Hashmi (Weekly Takbeer) and Imtiaz Alam (South Asian General).

Speaking on this occasion CPNE newly elected President, Mujeeb-ur-Rehman Shami said that CPNE has a history of long struggle for the freedom of the press, no one can usurp it at gun point, their exist need to talk in term of logic.

The CPNE President said that we would follow the footsteps of seniors, continue the mission of Quaid-e-Azam and Allama Iqbal to work for elimination of corruption and terrorism from the society.

The annual meeting was also addressed by Syed Fasih Iqbal, Khushnood Ali Khan, Shaheen Qureshi, Zia Shahid, Imtiaz Alam, Jamil Athar Qazi, Mushtaq Ahmad Qureshi and Ameer Mehmood.

The meeting lauded the services of out-going CPNE President Jamil Athar Qazi, Senior Vice-President Shaheen Qureshi and Secretary General Amir Mehmood.

Leave a Reply