PPP leads convincingly in Naushehro Feroze

Naushehro Feroze, Sindh: Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) got a decisive edge in the second phase of local government elections in district Naushehro Feroze.

On Thursday polling was held peacefully in the district for one municipal committee, 6 town committees and 56 union councils.

In Naushehro Feroze town committee, according to unofficial results PPP candidates Pir Khalid, Pir Kamal, Shahid Khanzada, Muneer Soomro and Sadiq Rajput won the ward seats, while two ward seats went to Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidates Dr Kashif Memon and Maroof Pirzado. However, the result of one ward was yet to be announced.

Ten PPP candidates have already won their seats in the districts uncontested.

However, due to the court order elections on six town committees and 8 union councils were deferred that would now be held in the third phase of the local government elections.