Sports: 1st PPL PTF championship start today

Islamabad: S1st Pakistan Petroleum Limited Pakistan Tennis Federation PTF Trophy championship will start today Tuesday at PTF Tennis Complex Garden Avenue Islamabad.

12 team from Affiliated Units of PTF including Wapda, Punjab, POF, IC Pakistan, Pakistan Senior Tennis Association, Pakistan Army, and Pakistan Air force, Sindh, Islamabad Tennis Association, HEC, KPK Tennis Association and Balochistan Tennis Association would participate in five day championship.

The championship was being played amongst the team on the Davis Cup format each team has nominated four players and one captain for the championship. The championship was sponsored by PPL. According to the draw the team were divided into following 4 groups.

Group matches will be played on round robin basis. Winner of each group will qualify for the semifinals which will be played on knockout basis.

In semifinals winner of Group A will face winner of Group C while winner of Group B will play against winner of Group D. Loser of semifinals will play for the 3rd position.

The matches will start tomorrow at 11:00 while the opening ceremony will be held at 10:30. On the opening day the following matches will be played. Wapda Vs PSTA, Punjab vs. IC Pakistan, PAF Vs. Sindh, KPK Vs. HEC.

Leave a Reply