Standing Committee on Law and Justice meets

Home » General, Official News

Standing Committee on Law and Justice meets

March 6, 2019

Islamabad, March 06, 2019 (PPI-OT): 5th meeting of the Standing Committee on Law and Justice was held today under the Chairmanship of Mr. Riaz Fatyana, MNA. The meeting started with the recitation from the Holy Quran. Then, the Committee decided to proceed with the agenda.

The Committee unanimously confirmed the minutes of its previous meeting held on 15th January 2019, while considering the minute’s, written request of Dr. Ramesh Kumar Vankwani, MNA was also placed before the Committee. Through this application, the Mover has requested for reconsideration of the Bill “The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2018 {Amendment in Article 25B, 51, 63B, 92 and 106)” clause by clause. After detailed deliberations, the Committee recommended that the Bill may be placed in the next meeting for reconsideration.

The Committee was briefed on the budgetary proposals of the Ministry of Law and Justice relating to the Public Sector Development Program (PSDP) for the financial year 2019-20, as required under rule 201(6) of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the National Assembly, 2007 and ongoing budget details and progress of the Ministry for the financial year 2018-19.

The Committee unanimously approved the PSDP of the Ministry with recommendations that, the Ministry should reconsider the proposal for construction of the official accommodation for the Hon. Judges of the Islamabad High Court Islamabad and directed to the Ministry that as the land is allocated for the judicial officers; hence, the other officers/officials shall not be allotted accommodations in the said colony.

However, the allocation of residences may be made to the Hon. Judges of the Supreme Court of Pakistan as well as to the District and Sessions Judges of the ICT. The Committee further recommended that the allocation of budget may also be made in the PSDP for the construction of Federal Courts Complex at Quetta.

Hon. Members/MNAs/Movers Mr. Atta Ullah, Mr. Muhammad Sana Ullah Khan MastiKhel, Malik Muhammad Ehsan Ullah Tiwana, Agha Hassan Baloch, Mr. Sher Ali Arbab, Ms. Shunila Ruth, Ch. Mehmood Bashir Virk, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Ms. Aliya Kamran, attended the meeting besides the Minister along with senior officers from the Ministry of Law and Justice with their staff.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106

Related Posts