Election: (Election for new NA Speaker today)

ISLAMABAD: The election to elect new Speaker of the National Assembly will be held today (Monday) and for this purpose, the Assembly session will be held today (Monday) morning.

PML (N) candidate for the Speakership Sardar Ayaz Sadiq filed his nomination papers with the Secretary, National Assembly Secretariat here on Sunday. PML(N) leaders were also present on the occasion.

PTI candidate Shafqat Mahmood and FATA candidate Dr. G. G. Jamal also filed their nomination papers. After scrutiny, the nomination papers of the three contesting candidates for National Assembly Speakership were declared valid.

A member who has been nominated can withdraw his candidature any time before the National Assembly proceeds to elect the Speaker.

The seat of the National Assembly Speaker had fallen vacant due to disqualification of Sardar Ayaz Sadiq by the Election Tribunal. Sardar Ayaz Sadiq has been re-elected as Member of the National Assembly from the same constituency in the recently held by-elections.