IEEE quiz ceremony held at HEC

Islamabad: A prize distribution ceremony for winners of the IEEE quiz was held at Higher Education Commission (HEC) Islamabad on Tuesday. Engr. Syed Imtiaz Hussain Gilani, Acting Chairperson HEC was the chief guest on the occasion.

The quiz is a new initiative by HEC’s National Digital Library Programme (NDLP), which has not only highlighted the work of Pakistani research fraternity published in IEEEXplore but has also developed awareness of scientific and technical content available through NDLP.

IEEEXplore provides online access to millions of full-text documents from some of the world’s most highly cited publications in Electrical Engineering, Computer Science and Electronics. The quiz was designed to inspire innovation and encourage Pakistani users to discover new research and cutting edge ideas via

The prelude to this was to enhance and polish research skills of Pakistani scholars and for this purpose 51-day training programme was launched among public sector universities. The result is that over 20,000 users were trained on the platform and skilled to utilize the content available through this platform.

Furthermore, trial access of four months for 44 institutions was extended other than the licensed sites to increase participation in the quiz. The upshot of this was 15,000 registrations for the quiz with 62% completion rates, and above 23% the correct answers threshold.

The list of the institutes that were given the trial access for IEEEXPlore are 17 public sector institutes and 26 private sector institutes.

Speaking at the occasion, the Chairperson highlighted the role of NDLP in streamlining the research practices in Pakistan. He also highlighted research output of the region, and stressed the need for further strengthening efforts for applied sciences research.

Dr. Tariq Mahmood, Adviser (R&D) HEC thanked IEEE for organizing the prize distribution ceremony which, he said, has acted as an incentive to students for carrying out research. He said that the usage of these tools needs to be increased by both faculty members as well as students.

The first Grand Prize Winner was Ms. Adeela Waqar, a faculty member at the NUST School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (SEECS), while the second Grand Prize Winner was Sonia Arshad, a student at University of the Punjab, Lahore.

Syed Ahsan Ali, student of the University of Karachi, Ali Bilawal, student of the Air University, Islamabad, Jawad Khan, student of the University of Engineering and Technology, Peshawar, and Ghulam Nabi Shawl, student of the COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Islamabad were the first, second, third and fourth runners-up, respectively.

Leave a Reply