LG Polls: (Polling for 2nd phase of LG elections today)

ISLAMABAD: The polling for the second phase of Local Government (LG) elections in Punjab and Sindh will be held today (Thursday). Election campaigns for the second phase of local government polls in Punjab and Sindh ended on Tuesday midnight.

In Punjab, polling will be held in 12 districts including Sargodha, Gujranwala, Sahiwal, Attock, Jhelum, Mianwali, Chiniot, Toba Tek Singh, Hafizabad, Mandi Bahauddin, Sheikhupura and Khanewal.

In Sindh, polling will be held in 14 districts, which include Hyderabad, Tando Mohammad Khan, Tando Allayar, Matiari, Dadu, Jamshoro, Badin, Thatta, Sajawal, Shaheed Benazirabad, Nausharoferoz, Mirpurkhas, Umerkot and Tharparkhar.

Polling in Sanghar has been postponed due to security reasons. A total of over twenty million voters will exercise their right of franchise in the two provinces. Election Commission has finalised all necessary administrative and security measures to ensure free, fair and transparent polling process.