Islamabad: The Finance Committee of the National Assembly met under the chairmanship of Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, Speaker National Assembly in Parliament House on Wednesday and approved the proposed budget of the National Assembly Secretariat for the fiscal year 2014-2015 amounting to Rs.2,609,390,000/-.

The Committee was informed that there was no variation between the revised estimates and sanctioned budget for the year 2013-2014 despite additional expenditure due to the grant of 10% Adhoc Relief by the government, and increase in the rates of POL with resultant increase in rates of various commodities and services etc.

The said expenditure has been absorbed and will be met through the budgetary allocation for the year 2013-2014, the committee was informed. The Committee was further informed that the savings /unspent amount would be surrendered to the government within the time stipulated by the government.

The Committee appreciated the prudent leadership of the Speaker for initiating austerity measures and maintaining financial discipline in the expenditures of the National Assembly Secretariat during current financial year.

The Speaker also apprised the committee about the formulation of HR policy whereby promotions would be made subject to performance, creation of paperless office, conducting of energy audit as well as electrification of Parliament House on Solar with the assistance of development partners.

The Committee also approved the waiver/write off of loans/advances of the two deceased Staff Car drivers of the National Assembly Secretariat amounting to Rs.476,598/-. The committee was informed that the above said amount was outstanding against both deceased employees in respect of advances/loans of House Building/Motor cycle.

The meeting was attended by MNAs Ch. Armughan Subhani, Sardar Muhammad Amjad Farooq Khan Khosa, Syed Imran Ahmad Shah, Mian Abdul Manan, Ms Ayesha Raza Farooq, Ms Leila Khan, Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah, Khawaja Ghulam Rasool Koreja, Secretary, National Assembly, Additional Secretary M/o Finance & Revenue and other senior officers of the National Assembly Secretariat.

Leave a Reply