MQM leaders booked for holding rally illegally

KARACHI: Nine Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) leaders including Dr Farooq Sattar and Haider Abbas Rizvi were booked on Friday for taking out a rally without permission and violating Loud Speaker Act.

According to sources, apart from Farooq Sattar and Haider Abbas Rizvi other MQM leaders Waseem Akhter, Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, Wasay Jalil, Faisal Sabzwari, Nasreen Jalil, Kanwar Naveed Jameel and Kamal Pasha were also nominated in the FIR registered at Soldier Bazaar police station.

The case FIR 416/2015 was registered under sections 147( punishment for rioting), 149( every member of unlawful assembly guilty of offence committed in prosecution of common object) for rioting and 341 (punishment for wrongful restraint) of the Pakistan Penal Code. The section 6/7 was also included in the FIR for violating loud speaker act.

According to FIR as many as 2000 workers of MQM gathered at MA Jinnah Road to protest during they caused hurdles for the people.

The party took out rally from Liaquatabad which was scheduled to culminate at Rangers Headquarter but the protestor were barred by the police at Numaish Chowrangi. The protest rally turned into a sit-in at Numaish Chowrangi to which the party leaders addressed.

The workers of the party dispersed peacefully after the sit-in came to an end on the leadership’s direction.