Murad, Mahoor clinch national badminton C’ship titles

Karachi: NBP’s Murad Ali clinched men’s singles title while Mahoor Shahzad of WAPDA claimed women’s singles title after winning their final matches in All-Pakistan Ranking Badminton Tournament on Monday at New Khan Badminton Hall in Lahore.

Murad Ali lost the first set against his final opponent Irfan Saeed of WAPDA. However, he made a strong comeback in the match and won the next two sets to pull a 17/21, 21/17, 21/08 victory and annexed the title to his name.

In women’s singles summit clash, Mahoor Shahzad thrashed her teammate Khizra Rasheed and recorded a convincing 21/14, 21/06 victory.

Meanwhile in men’s doubles final, NBP’s pair of Rizwan Azam and Kashif Sulhari, who had represented Pakistan at top international level in the past, defeated Awais Zahid and Attique Chaudhry of WAPDA recording a 21/16, 18/21, 21/15 triumph.

WAPDA’s Saima Waqas and Farzana Ali won women’s doubles title after beating Sidra Hameed and Khizra Rasheed also WAPDA by 16/21, 21/14, 21/18 score in final.