Pakistan ‘A’ squad for five T20 games against England Lions announced

Karachi: Chairman PCB Shaharyar Mohammad Khan has approved the Pakistan ‘A’ squad for the five-match T20 series against England Lions in December at the recommendation of the selection committee headed by Haroon Rashid.

“With ICC World T20 round the corner, all fringe players in contention for a place in the Pakistan T20 squad have been given an opportunity to establish their credentials before the mega event”, said chief selector Haroon Rashid.

The five matches will be played on December 7, 10, 11, 13 and 16 – at Dubai in the ICC’s Cricket Academy ground.

“The team has been selected keeping in mind the forthcoming ICC World T20, to be held in March 2016 in India. All the players are fully capable of acquitting themselves well in this format and have been performing well for quite some time,” Haroon said.

“Since this would be the last opportunity before the T20 World Cup to have a look at the potential of these players to prove their mettle for the selection in the national T20 squad for the upcoming tours and World Cup, the selection committee would be having a close look at the performance of each of the players during the five-match series against England Lions in the UAE,” he added.

16-member squad:

Sharjeel Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Shahzeb Hasan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Sohaib Maqsood (vice-captain), Mohammad Nawaz, Bilal Asif, Babar Azam, Saifullah Bangash (wicket-keeper), Kashif Bhatti, Amir Yamin, Saad Nasim, Junaid Khan (captain), Mir Hamza, Ziaul Haq, Ruman Raees.

Team Management:

Zakir Khan (Manager), Tauseef Ahmed (Coach), Mansoor Rana (Assistant Coach), Yasir Malik (Trainer), Arif Shah (Physiotherapist), Mohammad Talha (Analyst).