Sindh Institute of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences gets autonomous status

KARACHI: Health Department Sindh has awarded autonomous status to Sindh Institute of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences (SIOVS) Hyderabad and finalized the nominations of the healthcare’s Board.

SIOVS Hyderabad’s Director Prof Dr Khalid Talpur said that Sindh Assembly had passed a bill on March 8, 2013 to upgrade the Liaquat University Eye Hospital Hyderabad to SIOVS Hyderabad.

He said this is the first autonomous institute like Sindh Institute of Urology and Transplantation, National Institute of Cardiovascular Diseases, and National Institute of Child Health. He informed that this is first eye institute with visual sciences in public sector in Sindh province.

He said state-of-the-art Diagnostic Laboratory and OT Complex had been established in the institution, while three professors, three associate professors, six assistant professors, and 12 medical officers are also available to provide all kind of treatment and perform eye surgeries in the healthcare.

He said a research library had also been set up in the institution to conduct research in eye related diseases. He said aspiring young doctors will get high quality training to become future competent professionals.

According to the notification, nomination of board members names had been finalized under section-8(1) of the Sindh Institute of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, Hyderabad Act 2013, comprising Dr Ghulam Rabbani Dahri reputed Senior Ophthalmologist of Sindh province, Dr Aziz Ahmed Qureshi & Dr Iqbal Haroon Memon Nominees from Society of Welfare for Patient of Ophthalmology, Prof Dr Sameen Afzal Junejo & Prof Dr Ashok Kumar Narsani nominees of Academic Council of Pakistan LUMHS Jamshoro, Syed Mehmood Nawaz Shah nomine of Chamber of Agriculture, Jam Khan Shoro Member of Provincial Assembly, Dr Mohammad Hussain Leghari nominee of Pakistan Medical Association, Hyderabad, Akhundzada Asfandyar Khan nomine of NGO supporting hospital and Dr Aijaz Khan Khanzada nominees of Health Department Sindh.