WAPDA clinches National Cycling C’ship title

Karachi: WAPDA clinched the title of 61st National Cycling Championship with 241 points followed by Afghanistan in second position with 120 points and Punjab at third place on the podium with 83 points.

The championship concluded on April 1 at Cycling Velodrome in Lahore.

On the final day of the event on Tuesday, WAPDA’s Sabir Ali and Mohammad Shakeel won gold and silver medal in 1000M sprint respectively. Afghanistan’s Muhammad Ansari won bronze.

In team sprint, WAPDA claimed top position followed by Afghanistan and Punjab in second and third place respectively.

In elimination race, WAPDA’s Sabir Ali secured top spot followed by Mohammad Azeem of Punjab and Sindh’s Mohammad Yaseen in second and third place respectively.

Following his impressive showings during the championship, WAPDA’s Sabir Ali received Best Cyclist and Fastest Cyclist award.

Leave a Reply