Zohra Yusuf re-elected HRCP Chairperson

Lahore: Ms Zohra Yusuf was re-elected Chairperson and Kamran Arif Advocate was re-elected Co-chairperson of Human Rights Commission of Pakistan (HRCP) at the election of its office-bearers for the 2014-2016 term, held at the commission’s annual general meeting here on Sunday.

The Vice-chairpersons elected include Balochistan – Tahir Husain Khan, Advocate; Khyber Pakhtunkhwa – Sher Mohammad Khan, Advocate; Punjab – Ms Nazish Ataullah; Sindh – Asad Iqbal Butt. Ms Salima Hashmi was named as the commission Treasurer.

The members of the HRCP council (governing body) elected on the occasion were Ms Asma Jahangir; Ms Hina Jilani; Dr Mehdi Hassan; Air Marshal Zafar A. Chaudhry; Zahoor Ahmad Shahwani, Advocate; Ms Parveen Soomro; Ms Nasreen Azhar; Ms Uzma Noorani; Habib Tahir Khan, Advocate; Ms Tahira Kamal; Ghazi Salahuddin; Nadeem Anthony; Ms Sadia Bukhari; Kanjee Rano Bheel; Joseph Francis; Inder Ahuja; Akhtar Husain Baloch; Roland de Souza; Badaruddin Soomro; Saleh Zada; Abdul Ghani Mengal; Ms Tahira Abdullah; Babar Ayaz; Raja M. Ashraf and Amarnath Motomal.

The post Zohra Yusuf re-elected HRCP Chairperson appeared first on Pakistan Press International.

Leave a Reply