Electioneering in full swing ahead of May 22 by polls

SIALKOT: The PML-N was giving tough time to the other mainstream political parties including PTI, PML-Q, PPP and independent candidates ahead of the May 22, 2014 by polls scheduled to be held in provincial assembly constituency (PP 136, Narowal) here. PML-N was hopeful to re-clinch this seat, while, the PTI was striving to give tough time to PML-N here this time.

The electioneering was in full swing by the candidates, who are busy in holding corner meetings to lure their voters and supporters. Both PML-N and PTI were claiming to get victory in these by polls, as they have fielded their potential candidates in the race.

PML-N Central Leader Hamza Shehbaz Sharif visited the constituency and addressed an important meeting of the party workers, pledging to leave no stone unturned for serving the masses, besides, raising their living standard by ensuring the basic facilities to the people at their door steps. However, the PTI Chairman Imran Khan is also expected to visit this constituency on May 21, 2014.

According to the local independent political pundits, the PML-N has clear edge in this by election here, as all the local elected representatives of PML-N including local MNA Mian Muhammad Rasheed have already to shun their political differences and they were now united to strengthen the PML-N and were supporting the PML-N candidate here. Now, PML-N’s three MNAs and four MPAs from Narowal district are fully supporting PML-N candidate Col (Rtd) Shujaat Ahmed Khan ahead of the coming by polls in this constituency.

The by polls are being held in this constituency by the orders of Election Tribunal Lahore, which had cancelled the May 11,2013 general elections results in this constituency on the writ petition submitted by a defeated independent candidate Muhammad Wakeel Khan Manj regarding polls rigging here.

In 2013 general elections, the PML-N candidate Col(Rtd) Shujaat Ahmed Khan had won by bagging 47456 votes after defeating his eight other rival candidates including PTI’s Nadeem Nisar Chaudhary, PPP’s Ch. Masood Ahmed Basra  , PML-Q’s Syed Moosa Raza  and strong independent candidate Muhammad Wakeel Khan Manj who clinched second position by getting 31939 votes , while PTI’s Nadeem Nisar Chaudhary got third position after bagging 6363 votes. PML-N has again fielded Col (Rtd) Shujaat Ahmed Khan in this constituency. He had been MPA for three times in past, while his elder brother Ch. Shafaat Ahmed Khan had been elected as MNA in 1985 general elections.

Now, as many as ten candidate are in the race and they contesting the by election in this constituency. The candidates are: Col (Rtd) Shujaat Ahmed Khan (PML-N), Muhammad Wakeel Khan Manj (now PTI platform) and independent candidates Rana Muhammad Ikhtisar, Ch. Asrarul Haq (the elder brother of prominent singer Abrarul Haq), Ch. Masood Ahmed Basra, Ali Adnan, Ali Imran, Muhammad Asif Baig, Muhammad Adnan and Waqas Shujaat. Ch, Masood Basra had contested 2013 general election from here and got 3381 votes. Now, he is contesting as an independent candidate.

According to the Narowal DCO Syed Najaf Iqbal Shah, the constituency PP 136 is consisting of 17 union councils of Narowal district, including Talwandi Bhindaraan, Ballowal, Dharg Miana, Nidokey, Kot Lakha Singh, Khan Khasa, Dongiyaan, Faleezpur, Qila Ahmadabad, Lala, Dhamtal, Langarkey, Sankhatra, Noonar, Boobak Maraali, Saddowala and Meelowala. Rajput, Jutt and Mayo Biradaries are in majority here. Total registered voters are: 159584. Election Commission has established 123 polling stations and 430 polling booths, besides, deputing 983 polling staff. 9 polling stations of category A and 29 polling stations of category B have been declared sensitive in this constituency.

The post Electioneering in full swing ahead of May 22 by polls appeared first on Pakistan Press International.

Leave a Reply