Gilani concerned over plight of Kashmiri detainees

Home » General, Official News

Gilani concerned over plight of Kashmiri detainees

April 18, 2018

Srinagar, April 18, 2018 (PPI-OT): In occupied Kashmir, the Chairman of All Parties Hurriyat Conference, Syed Ali Gilani has expressed concern over the plight of Kashmiri detainees lodged in various jails in and outside the territory. Syed Ali Gilani in a statement issued in Srinagar quoting the families of many detainees said that that the inmates were subjected to harassment in jails. “The Kashmiri detainees are denied medical and other necessary facilities,” he said.

The APHC Chairman expressed concern over the deteriorating health condition of senior APHC leader and Democratic Freedom Party chief Shabbir Ahmed Shah in Delhi’s notorious Tihar Jail. The statement said, “The pro-freedom leadership is being implicated under frivolous charges for standing up for their legitimate right to self-determination.”

Syed Ali Gilani said that Hurriyat leaders and activists, Dr Ghulam Muhammad Butt, Muhammad Altaf Shah, Nayeem Ahmed Khan, Peer Saifullah, Ayaz Muhammad Akbar, Merajuddin Kalwal, Shahid-ul-Islam, Farooq Ahmed Dar, Manzoor Ahmed Dar, Shahid Yousuf and Muhammad Aslam Wani were lodged in Tihar jail for no crime.

The puppet authorities have been continuously booking pro-freedom leader Masarrat Aalam Butt under draconian law, Public Safety Act, for the past eight years, he pointed out. “Every time court orders quashing of his detention under PSA, police come up with another one,” he deplored.

The APHC Chairman also condemned the ill-treatment meted out to the inmates lodged in Srinagar Central Jail and the shifting of over 50 detainees to the outside jails. Some of these detainees include Dr Muhammad Qasim Fakhtoo, Dr Shafi Shariyati, Dr Ghulam Qadir Butt, Ghulam Muhammad Khan Sopori, Farooq Ahmed Tawheedi, Tariq Ahmed Dar, Maznoor Ahmed, Muhammad Yousuf Mir, Muhammad Yousuf Falahi, Shakeel Itoo, Mir Hafeezullah, Mir Hamza Shah, Abdul Ghani Butt, Abdul Aziz Ganai, Bashir Ahmed Qureshi, Muhammad Ashraf Malik, Manzoor Ahmed Kaloo, Muhammad Shaban Khan, Ajaz Ahmed Pahroo, Abdul Khaliq Rigoo, Mufti Abdul Ahad Rathar, Muhammad Subhan Wani, Hakimur Rehman, Naseer Ahmed Ganai, Manzoor Ahmed War, Ajaz Ahmed Butt, Riyaz Ahmed Sheikh, Tariq Ahmed Sheikh and Mushtaq Ahmed.

For more information, contact:
Kashmir Media Service
Phone: +92-51-4435548, +92-51-4435549
Fax: +92-51-4861736

Related Posts